Bought a smart phone yesterday…

Phone BulletsFinally.

Now the world can safely end.

It was really cool, because Carol and I walked into the store, told the guy what we were looking for, and he pointed us right at what we needed.

5MP camera? That one, sir.

Then he transitioned us to a new plan. And we were in business.

As he was setting things up, though, I became unsure about the camera. Was it really 5MP? So I grabbed the box, turned it over, and looked at the bullet copy.

  • 5MP Camera

And I felt much surer.

I woke up really early this morning, thinking about that. Kind of picturing the bullet copy of my life.

How would people in the world around me describe me, you know…in bullets?

I have a friend, a guy I’ve known for decades now. Some of his bullet copy would be easy to write:

  • Plays well with others
  • Infectious laugh
  • Influences people around him without even trying

There’ve been many times I wished I could borrow some of those benefits for my own copy. And, in a way, I have, because he set a pattern I could learn from.

High school bullets

One day in high school, I got really upset with some friends and let them know.

Loudly.

Later, one of them said, “You are an angry person. If you could bottle that anger and find a use for it, you could make a ton of money.”

So at the top of Charles’s bullet copy he would’ve put:

  • Explosive anger

Hopefully, that one’s been replaced with something better:

  • Explosive anger
  • Compassion

I remember one time, in a session with my life coach, Bob, I said something about being (or appearing to be) a screwup.

He challenged me on that. I mean, honestly, it was just a throwaway line. A burst of corny levity.

Not to Bob. “Do you really see yourself that way?” he said.

“Not really.” He didn’t say anything else. He kind of looked at me a bit before he let it go.

  • Screwup

You know what? Let’s strike that one out:

  • Screwup
  • Diligent

Which is actually the truth, and had been for some time.

Factual or aspirational?

Which leads me to the question:

Should the bullet copy of our lives be factual or aspirational?

I think it should be actual. Which means it should be as God says it is.

A good illustration of this in my own life is when God interrupted my morning newspaper reading to let me in on something he was making true in my life:

He had given me

  • A shepherd’s heart

Anybody who knew me at the time would’ve scoffed. I scoffed.

God didn’t.

He had actually done something in my life that we simply couldn’t see yet.

But he could.

There is much I aspire to. Some of it’s from God. Some of it’s not. All of it that’s from God is actual. It’s not just aspirational. It really exists. We just don’t see it yet.

We’re not only talking about me here. We’re talking about you too. And your kids. And your spouse. And the guy at work that gets on your nerves.

There is so much power in the bullet copy of our lives.

For good and bad.

I used to envision things—the shepherd’s heart thing was one of them—and I would be too embarrassed to tell anybody. At some point I realized it wasn’t the fear of failure that kept me back, but the fear of being laughed at for my arrogance in even dreaming.

I was living down to the bullet copy other people wrote for my life.

A bucket list of bullet copy

I have a bucket list of bullet copy. Do you?

Tombstone bullets.

When you cut away all the hype and puffery, here are the bottom line bullets I would like carved into my tombstone:

  • Slow and steady
  • Won the race

What about you? What bullet copy do you want for your life?

 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart. —Hebrews 12:1-3

One thought on “Re-Writing the Bullet Copy for Your Life

  1. Bullet point rings true. I saw the shepherd thing years ago. Just something I know about you. Have actually thought and prayed about it quite a lot over the years – in a guide-your-path sort of way.

Leave a Reply

