If you are fighting depression…

depressed.

Dear friend,

If you are fighting depression today, don’t make it your wish to replace depression with a more palatable mood. Depression doesn’t have anything to do with what you’re feeling. It’s all about what you’re thinking.

Instead of trying to replace depression with happiness, determine to confront depression with truth.

Depression is a liar (so is anxiety). The only cure for a lie is truth.

So make it your mission to know what the truth is, no matter what lies your emotions are telling you. You cannot make yourself feel anything. You can only trust, or not trust, your feelings—trust, or not trust, truth.

So know truth. Think truth. Speak truth. Live truth. Agree with truth when you hear it.

“Test everything. Hold on to the good.” 1 Thessalonians 5:21

“Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things.” Philippians 4:8

“Instead, speaking the truth in love, we will in all things grow up into him who is the Head, that is, Christ.” Ephesians 4:15

“Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.” Romans 12:2

“Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation.” Psalm 42:5

“I remember my affliction and my wandering, the bitterness and the gall. I well remember them, and my soul is downcast within me. Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope: Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” Lamentations 3:19-23

Some helpful reading:

Leave a Reply

