Yes We Can-Can by Duke Yearlook

Been reading a lot lately about motivating people.

Here’s what to do if you want to motivate me:

Don’t use flattery.

I don’t like being flattered. I don’t like having to analyze whether I’m being flattered. I don’t like realizing I’ve been taken in by flattery. So when you flatter me I don’t believe you. And I get really tired. And unmotivated.

Here’s what to do instead:

Give me a task I can pour my life into. Then give me the tools and the freedom to do it. That’s all. THAT will motivate me more than anything you can say to me.

And I will sing your praises to anyone who will listen.

What’s the most effective way to motivate you?

Leave a Reply

