My Plan for Getting Promoted…

Daniel 1:9 (New International Version 1984, ©1984)

9 Now God had caused the official to show favor and sympathy to Daniel…

One thing I have been asking God for some time now is to cause “officials” (my employers and potential employers) to show favor and sympathy to me. I have to do this for two reasons:

  1. This is an imperfect world with imperfect systems inhabited by imperfect supervisors who are likely as not to follow very imperfect standards in promoting and assigning.
  2. I am the perfect example of one of these imperfect people who inhabit this imperfect world—I make mistakes, I sometimes learn things more slowly than is needed, I am getting older and some things are getting harder. So I need God to work in the hearts of the people I work with just as much as I need him to work in my own heart.

I have an idea!

Why don’t we pray for each other? I’ll pray for you that God causes the “officials” in your life to show favor and sympathy to you and you turn around and ask the same for me.

Is that a deal?

 

2 thoughts on “My Plan for Getting Promoted…

    • Yes, you do, my friend!

      It's funny, Rick, when I was writing the post I totally didn't think of the freelance side of things, only the employee-employer side.

      Father, I thank you for building Rick's business. I thank you for Jonathan coming alongside his dad during these days and helping. Please help both these men find favor with clients (and schools and mission boards and…). You clearly have your hand on their lives and on the whole family. Thank you for being faithful, Lord!

Leave a Reply

