Live the new life…

My journey

in becoming a fully devoted follower of Christ began when I was a junior in college, during Spring Break, when I first made the decision to let God be in charge of every aspect and dimension of my life.

Seemingly, not a lot changed. At least at first.

Fortunately, I fell in with a group of students who believed with all their hearts that everything God promised in the Bible was theirs to claim and that everything God commanded was theirs to obey.

In my experience to that point, they were pretty radical.

I began following them around and emulating them. One thing I found out quickly was that they took learning the Bible so seriously, they actually memorized it!

That was a first for me. Even though I was never able to memorize anything (which is why it took me a fifth year of college to re-take Spanish I), I took to scripture memory. It was the first time in my life I was able to focus on anything for more than a few minutes at a time. And that changed everything for me. I began for the first time to find peace in the midst of the emotional storms that were my life story to that point.

Some of the people I was hanging around were working their way through a scripture memory program called The Topical Memory System. So, naturally, I began to do the same thing. The program had 60 verses, broken down into five groups of 12. Each of these five groups was then broken down into six concepts pegged to two verses each. A wonderful system that encourages me to this day.

It so happens, as this season of life finds me in a sort of Golden Oldies phase, that this coming week’s focus is on the first group of verse, called Live the New Life. Here it is:

LIVE THE NEW LIFE
Christ the Center 2 Corinthians 5:17 Galatians 2:20
Obedience to Christ Romans 12:1 John 14:21
The Word 2 Timothy 3:16 Joshua 1:8
Prayer John 15:7 Philippians 4:6,7
Fellowship Matthew 18:20 Hebrews 10:24,25
Witnessing Matthew 4:19 Romans 1:16

I dare you to give memorizing it a try…

Leave a Reply

